Note: Please do not post ads in the timeshare forums. If you want to add a timeshare posting, go here.

Original Message:

Re: Trading power of Palm Beach Resort and Beach Club (by KC):

valeried50 wrote:
Hello,

I'm new to timeshares and this board. My husband's parents want to give us their timeshare at The Palm Beach Resort and Beach Club. It is for the week of July 4th. We would just have the yearly maintance fees of about $700. I'm wondering if anyone may have some information about this resort and also how much trading power it might have with RCI. I am able to travel during the off season but I think I prefer vacations at more of a "resort" property than a condo like property. Maybe one of the gold or silver crown options. Could July 4th week at this property trade for an off season week at a more resort like property? Thank you in advance for any help. I'm new to all this and just trying to figure out how it all works.

===================================

According to the RCI directory, Palm Beach Resort & Beach Club is resort #0616. The resort number itself indicates that it's an older place, certainly well over 20 years old. There is no "rating" indicated. No on site amenities indicated beyond an outdoor pool. There are 1BR units and 2BR units there, but your post does not identify which of those two possibilities your in-laws own. The difference between the two obviously and greatly affects the trading power of that week.

Personally, I do not know whether the July 4 week is a popular one at a place like this and RCI "trading power" is frankly always a little bit of a mystery anyhow. That disclaimer clearly stated up front, unless July 4 is actually a popular week here, you just might encounter some difficulty trying to "trade up" from an unrated resort into a Gold Crown resort, unless it's in "off season" for that Gold Crown facility.