Travel Tips & Advice

Bringing food from home?

Mar 26, 2007

We will be in St Thomas for two weeks in May, has anyone since 9/11 brought food - frozen meat, etc.) on a carry on or in their luggage? Have any problems??

Ruth M.
Mar 30, 2007

ruthm65 wrote:
We will be in St Thomas for two weeks in May, has anyone since 9/11 brought food - frozen meat, etc.) on a carry on or in their luggage? Have any problems??

Ruth; I have no personal knowledge of your question, but I would suspect that you will end up leaving your "groceries" at the airport.

If you really want to take your own "groceries" with you, I would suggest using "dry ice and UPS/FEDEX"

Jon S.
Mar 30, 2007

ruthm65 wrote:

Ruth; I was also going to suggest that you call your Airline for info. But that really doesn't work anymore. The "Security Screener" will make the final decision and you won't know the answer until you attempt to pass security. In any case, good luck!

Jon S.
Mar 30, 2007

jons29 wrote:
ruthm65 wrote:

Ruth; I was also going to suggest that you call your Airline for info. But that really doesn't work anymore. The "Security Screener" will make the final decision and you won't know the answer until you attempt to pass security. In any case, good luck!

Jon - You are right airlines don't assist as they used to. We decided to take dry ice in a cooler as checked luggage. We rarely check our bags for fear of delay and the inconvienence of it all, we love getting off the plane and just getting out of there!

Ruth M.
Apr 01, 2007

I've taken food into Mexico, Aruba and St. Maarten with no problems. I've just packed in inside a cooler bag in my checked luggage. The bags were even x-rayed in Cabo San Lucas with no delay. I usually purchase the precooked bacon also.

Mickey L.
Apr 05, 2007

mickey56 wrote: