Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Owners want money up front first?!

Feb 04, 2024

Hello All,

I am brand new to Redweek as a timeshare renter. So far, I have backed out of one transaction because the owner wanted me to Venmo $1600 first, without a written agreement/contract of any kind. She did send me a picture of her first name only, unit number, blurred-out confirmation number on a reservation from the resort. Was this sufficient info prior to sending $$? I wasn't sure, so I backed out. Now, I again find myself in talks with another owner who wants $1800 via Venmo first before adding my name to the reservation. Quite a leap of faith, no? So I ask owners: Do you ask renters to send money first? And if so how do you assure renters that you are legit? Thank you.

Cleo R.
Feb 05, 2024

There is some degree of risk when online transactions of any kind involve two parties entirely unknown to each other. RedWeek is generally a "safe" site, since only paid members can advertise on it, but it is still always wise to protect yourself as best you can. I will offer below my thoughts and opinion based upon my own direct experience and personal preferences over a few decades now as someone who occasionally rents out weeks that I own and who also occasionally rents a week from someone else. My advice follows, for whatever it's worth:

1. Always first look for listings that are “RedWeek Verified” in your geographic area / time frame / resort of interest to you. This verification provides assurance that the advertiser actually owns what they are advertising for rent and that fact has already been independently confirmed by RedWeek personnel in the "RedWeek Verified" process. Since it costs an advertiser only $10 extra to get their listing "RedWeek Verified", I cannot even begin to understand why advertisers would choose to NOT provide that simple reassurance to prospective renters. That's just being cheap and it is both selfish and inconsiderate, in my personal opinion.